Official FIFA World Cup match balls (1930 to 2022)

FOOTBALL - FIFA Women's World Cup 2023
Date : July to August 2023
Watch Free - ESPN+, Fubo TV, Zattoo, ITV, DAZN
Watch Online Anywhere - Try Express VPN - Top VPN For Football Streaming

The FIFA World Cup is the world’s most prestigious association football tournament, contested by the senior men’s national teams of members of the Fédération Internationale de Football Association (FIFA), the sport’s global governing body. The championship has been awarded every four years since the inaugural tournament in 1930, except in 1942 and 1946 when it was not held due to World War II. The current champion is France, who won their second title at the 2018 tournament in Russia.

The tournament consists of two parts, the qualifying phase and the final phase (often called the World Cup finals). The qualification phase, which currently takes place over three years, is used to determine the teams qualified for the final phase of the tournament, contested by 32 teams.

The official FIFA World Cup match ball has been manufactured by Adidas since 1970.

In the past, other companies such as Nike, Miter and Select have also supplied official match balls for the tournament.

Official FIFA World Cup match balls

Official FIFA World Cup match balls:

  • Tiento (1st half), T-Model (2nd half) – 1930
  • Federal 102 – 1943
  • Allen – 1938
  • Duplo T – 1950
  • Swiss World Champion – 1954
  • Best Star – 1958
  • Crack – 1962
  • 4 Star Challenge – 1966
  • 1970 – Telstar (Adidas)
  • 1974 – Telstar Durlast (Adidas)
  • 1978 – Tango (Adidas)
  • 1982 – Tango España (Adidas)
  • 1986 – Azteca (Adidas)
  • 1990 – Etrusco Unico (Nike)
  • 1994 – Questra (Adidas)
  • 1998 – Tricolor (Adidas)
  • 2002 – Fevernova (Adidas)
  • 2006 – Team Geist (Adidas)
  • 2010 – Jabulani (Adidas)
  • 2014 – Brazil (Adidas)
  • 2018 – Telstar 18 (Adidas)
  • 2022 – adidas Al Rihla – Qatar 2022

Why do the balls have different names?

Official FIFA World Cup match balls have been given different names since 1970. The names are usually based on the year of the tournament or some other aspect of the event. It fosters creativity and helps promote the tournament. For example, the official match ball for the 2006 FIFA World Cup was called the “Teamgeist”. The word “teamgeist” is a German word meaning “team spirit”.

What is special about these balls?

Official FIFA World Cup match balls are special because they are used in the most prestigious association football tournament in the world. They are also made by some of the most well-known companies in the world, such as Adidas and Nike.


The World Cup is only 2 months away and it’s time to plan and rejoice. It is after bad times that such a big event happens in our lives. Be sure to be part of it!

*Note: The official match ball for the 1970 and 1974 World Cups was called the “Telstar”. The name “Telstar” is derived from the satellite of the same name.