FIFA World Cup Golden Ball Winners List

FOOTBALL - FIFA Women's World Cup 2023
Date : July to August 2023
Watch Free - ESPN+, Fubo TV, Zattoo, ITV, DAZN
Watch Online Anywhere - Try Express VPN - Top VPN For Football Streaming

The prestigious Golden Ball is awarded to the best performing player at the FIFA World Cup finals. The winner of this prestigious trophy is chosen by voting through the media representatives from a list drawn up by the FIFA Technical Committee. However, the Ballon d’Or award was introduced in the 1982 FIFA World Cup.

Currently, 10 players have won this prestigious Golden Ball award and no player has won this trophy twice in their career. Apart from the Golden Ball, there are also Silver Ball and Bronze Ball awards available and players win it according to their performance.

Here is the complete list of FIFA World Cup Golden Ball winners.

  1. Paolo Rossi(Italy) 1982 FIFA World Cup

Paolo Rossi is the only European player to win the Ballon d’Or and the Golden Boot subsequently. In the 1982 FIFA World Cup, he won the prestigious Golden Ball trophy for his outstanding performance. He remains Italy’s top scorer at the World Cup alongside Roberto Baggio.

  1. Diego Maradona (Argentina) – 1986 FIFA World Cup

Diego Maradona is undoubtedly the most deserving player of the Golden Ball. He singlehandedly powered Argentina to win the World Cup in 1986. His performances have made him one of the best players in FIFA World Cup history.

  1. Salvatore Schillaci (Italy) – 1990 FIFA World Cup

Salvatore Schillaci surprised everyone with his performance in the 1990 FIFA World Cup, helping Italy march from third place to the final. His six goals in the tournament help him get both the Golden Ball and the Golden Boot.

  1. Romario (Brazil) – 1994 FIFA World Cup

Romario is one of the greatest strikers of all time. Playing for Brazil, he showed exceptional sportsmanship and acumen that helped him win the Golden Ball in the 1994 FIFA World Cup.

  1. Ronaldo Nazario (Brazil) – 1998 FIFA World Cup

Ronaldo outshine every country’s 1998 FIFA World Cup and due to his health problem, Brazil lost to France. His outstanding performance in that World Cup brought him a Ballon d’Or.

  1. Oliver Kahn (Germany) – 2002 FIFA World Cup

Due to his outstanding performances during the 2002 FIFA World Cup, Oliver Kahn won the Golden Ball.

  1. Zinedine Zidane (France) – 2006 FIFA World Cup

Zinedine Zidane won the 2006 FIFA World Cup Golden Ball after an impressive performance in the final against Italy.

  1. Diego Forlan (Uruguay) – 2010 FIFA World Cup

Diego Forlan was the center of attraction of the 2010 FIFA World Cup. Due to his spectacular performance, he won the Golden Ball.

  1. Lionel Messi (Argentina) – 2014 FIFA World Cup

Lionel Messi is the shining star of football. As a result of his spectacular performance against various teams at the 2014 FIFA World Cup, he won the Golden Ball.

  • Luka Modric (Croatia) – 2018 FIFA World Cup

Luka Modric showed the best performance in 2018 FIFA world cup and therefore; he won the prestigious Golden Ball award.